Writing

Treasured Book Finds – Liz Madrid

Yesterday, I went for a long walk along the beach with friends and we stopped by a garage sale on the way. While everyone else was checking out the clothing and furniture, I always manage to gravitate towards what I love – books.

And I found three awesome finds!  The first was Eudora Welty’s One Writer’s Beginnings and the other two are below:

I’ve been wanting to get this book for some time now – in paperback especially and now in have my very own copy! Purchased in Granada in 1989, it still has the flyer from the bookstore tucked within its pages!


And then there’s Frida: A Biography of Frida Kahlo. I remember running across a copy of her diary at a gift shop but the price tag was too steep. It features copies of her diary including her drawings and this book has the translated entries. And it has pictures of her art as well and for a dollar each, I got such a deal!

Now this fourth book is not part of my garage sale haul but it arrived the other day and short of hiding it from the family, I figured I’d show it here. It’s Shawnté Borris’ special cover of her novel, Playing the Game and she also included a postcard!


I think it still qualifies as a treasured find, right?

via Treasured Book Finds – Liz Madrid

Leave a Reply

